PDA

View Full Version : Seeking Employment In Buenos Aires

Rock Harders
01-02-06, 23:58
Fellow Mongers-

After living in Buenos Aires for 4 months (August 05-December 05) I am back in the USA for the holdays visiting family and tying up loose ends. I am planning an imminant return to Buenos Aires sometime in late January or early February. This time, however, I need to work. I graduated from the University of Delaware in May 2005 with a BA in International Relations, and my Castellano is good. I have experience as a bartender, bouncer, personal trainer, and english teacher. At this point I would take just about any decent paying job as long as it is not too ridiculous. Any and all help here would be greatly appreciated. Send me a PM if you would like my personal details.

Dirk

Moore
01-03-06, 02:36
DD,

I believe it is very difficult to find employment in Argentina. A "decently paid" job here by US / European standards basically doesnt exist. Many bilingual, young, local people with good degrees here work for less (often much less) than 2000 pesos / month in large companies. I have a professional friend who is a native Argentine and also a naturalized US citizen that lived in NYC for several years. She made about 3000 pesos / mo working here as a reporter for one of the largest broadcasters in the world and later worked as a private English instructor for corporate executives, for which she earned about 1500 pesos / mo. Many IT professionals also earn in that range. Although I am not sure what bartenders or personal trainers make, I'm almost sure it is less.

Also you will need a residence visa and DNI to be employed legally which are not so easy to get, at least in my experience.