PDA

View Full Version : Bringing equipment into Argentina

Lochdhu
05-23-06, 23:03
So I am making plans to live in argentina for at least a year. Maybe longer, My sights are firmly set on BA for now. Started my Visa app with arca.

Now, since I am a webmaster, and part-time photograher, I want to bring with me 3 desk top computers and one laptop, along with all the software I need to run my stuff, and about 20k in Photography equipment. So if I move there and bring all this with me thru the airport, am I going to get hit with that import tax of 50% I hear so much about? I'd like to know now, so I can consider my options. And maybe ship my stuff down there another way?

I can't rip out and install all the Hard drives on one computer, because the Bays on all 3 computers are already full, all other equipment iwill more than likely buy down there, ie monitors. Mouse keyboards.

Any ideas, suggestions or answers is greatly appreciated.

StrayLight
05-24-06, 00:37
This it totally anecdotal, but the issue you raise is the one I'm dealing with right now: the so-called import tax.

I'm going to be arriving later this year with a retiree visa. It is a one-year, temporary visa that will need to be renewed for a few years before it becomes permanent.

My understanding is that I need to arrange some sort of insurance / guarantee that I will not sell any of my stuff before my visa becomes permanent, or that I will take everything with me if I leave before the visa becomes permanent. I'm supposed to pay this quarterly, based on the declared value of the shipment. If I stay until the visa becomes permanent, I get some portion of what I've paid back. My shipping company is supposed to arrange this insurance.

Again, that's totally anecdotal at this point. No hard facts.