This blog is moderated by Big Boss Man
    There is really only one way to get fluent and that is immersion. That means no speaking English. I studied Spanish for twenty years and I knew a lot but when they began to speak normally, I got lost. About fifteen years ago I went on a trip with a chica who spoke not a word of English and avoided all English speakers. For six weeks I could not use my English even if I wanted to because no one around me would understand it. That is what finally got me over the hump. By the end of that experience I was dreaming in Spanish.

The reason anglophones get lost when trying to follow Spanish is that they are trying to translate it. It's just humanly physically and anatomically not possible to translate as fast as someone can speak Spanish. So for those trying to get to a higher level, you have to stop hanging around with so many gringos when you come to Argentina, and you have to stop trying to translate. I get that it's fun to hang out at the AP house and screw the English speaking gals like María, and that is great, but you will never get fluent that way. You can improve your pronunciation and your grammar but you will never be able to follow a normally paced conversation.

'Aprendía el castellano en la calle, la escuela de la vida'

Duolingo

I used Duolingo which is free language training app for thirty minutes a day for approximately 60 days before I came on this trip. I was more confident. I am still having the basic conversations where are you from and how old are you and how many children do you have. I thought my pronunciation improved but Daddy Rulz is always correcting me. There is no magic bullet to help you improve or I am a very slow learner.

Duolingo